Oct

28 2021

Exploring Broadway: "I Want" Songs

4:00PM - 5:30PM  

Contact Jeremy Lisitza
941.343.2113
jlisitza@jfedsrq.org
http://jfedsrq.org

$ Cost $ 50.00

Thursdays, October 7, 14, 21 & 28 

1-2:30pm (PT), 2-3:30pm (MT), 3-4:30pm (CT), 4-5:30pm (ET) 

on Zoom 

Dancer, choreographer, director, Bob Fosse (think “jazz hands!”), said that most songs fall into two categories: 1) “I Want” songs and 2) “I Am” songs. Explore “I Want” songs in our October series and “I Am” songs in our December series.” 

Usually the 2nd or 3rd number in a musical, the “I Want” song is a way to engage the audience with the main character’s hopes, dreams, goals, or desires, which often propels him/her through the rest of the show.  

Join James Sokol for a journey with audio & video performance clips of these compelling and propelling songs. From soaring ballads to charming ditties, songs will come from the “Golden Age” to recent shows.  Come for the songs; stay for the fun! 

James Sokol started in the opera world under the leadership of Beverly Sills at New York City Opera. After working on projects with the Opera Company of Philadelphia while in graduate school, Sokol moved west to work at San Francisco Opera. He is a former Executive Director of Pocket Opera and a Founding Member of the Singers Development Foundation. He has been teaching throughout the SF Bay Area for over 25-years. He is also the Director of the National JCC Adult & Senior Alliance and of the Kurland Center for Adult Learning & Living at the Osher Marin JCC (San Rafael, CA).